On a field filled with future Hall of Fame stars, unheralded Ted Dean, from nearby Radnor High School, scored the winning touchdown in the third quarter to give the Eastern Conference champions the National Football league title.

Dean upstaged the Packers talented running backs, Paul Hornung and Jim Taylor, to earn a standing ovation from the joyous home crowd after leaving the field following the Eagles final offensive series.

But it was the efforts of an outstanding Eagles defensive unit that held the vaunted Packers attack to a single touchdown that provided the catalyst for victory. Keyed by linebacker Chuck Bednarik who stopped Taylor on the Eagles 10-yard line as time expired, Green Bay was frustrated on every offensive series but one.

Unknown Eagles coach Burt Shotten outdueled his adversary Vince Lombardi to claim the championship trophy. His game plan to shutdown the Green Bay long range passing attack riding on the talented arm of Bart Starr resulted in only one completion to wide receiver Boyd Dowler which came on the final fourth quarter drive.

Defensive backs Maxie Baughan, Don Burroughs and Tom Brookshier were all over the field making tackles when Starr resorted to swing passes to pump life into his wavering offense.

The Eagles won the opening toss and elected to receive as co-captains Norm Van Brocklin and Bednarik called heads. Hardly had the home crowd settled into their seats when disaster struck. Following Hornung's kickoff returned by Tim Brown to the Eagles 22, Bill Quinlan intercepted a tipped Van Brocklin pass to Bill Barnes for an interception returned to the 14. But the raging defense held on a fourth and two on the five.

On their second possession, the Eagles' fortunes were no better as Ted Dean fumbled after a jarring tackle by linebacker Ray Nitchke and the visitors were back in business on the Eagles 22. Hornung and Taylor took turns carrying to the 11 when the attack stalled.

Hornung opened scoring with a field goal to put the Pack up 3-0. The Eagles were unable to move the football for the remainder of the first quarter as the game turned into a punting duel with Green Bay dominating play.

As the second period opened with the Packers threatening to score, the Philadelphia defense bent but didn't break. Hornung again kicked a field goal to put his team ahead, 6-0.

The Eagles fed fuel into their frozen motors as the offense warmed up. A Van Brocklin pass to Tommy McDonald on a slant pattern moved the ball to the Packers 39. On a play-action pass that froze the defense, Van Brocklin hit McDonald with a perfect toss that the acrobatic receiver caught on the seven and made his famous slide into the end zone and over a snow pile stacked beyond.

The Eagles were able to pad their 7-6 lead while the Packers regrouped.

The short passing attack to Pete Retzlaff and Bobby Walston became available thanks to McDonald's antics.

A swing pass to Dean gained to the Green Bay eight but the defense held.

Walston kicked a field goal and Philadelphia took a 10-6 lead into the locker room at intermission. Dean led all runners with 60 yards on 15 carries.

The Packers used their devastating ground game behind Taylor and Hornung to carry the early second half action. But Bednarik caught Hornung in a crunching tackle and the star halfback left the field with a pinched nerve in his neck. He did return as a kicker but his ball carrying had ended.

The Eagles also mounted a third quarter threat but an end zone interception on a Van Brocklin to Walston pass halted the challenge.

With Lombardi fuming on the sidelines, Max McGee ran 25 yards on a daring fake punt to put the Packer machine in gear. Starr completed a pass to the Eagles 32 and Hornung's replacement, Tom Moore, carried to the Eagles 22. With the famed Green Bay sweep eating up yards, Starr changed the attack with a scoring pass to McGee to put the Pack up, 13-10.

As the Eagles fans exhorted their heroes to one more gallant effort, Barnes and Dean ran around and over the heralded Green Bay defense.

Moving from the 5-yard line around end, Dean used his speed behind great blocking to score the winning touchdown putting the Birds up, 17-13.

After several changes of possession, the clock became Green Bay's enemy, Starr mounted a final drive with three minutes to play that left the Pack on the 10 as Bednarik put the clamps on Taylor as the game ended.

After the game, Coach Lombardi stated, "I'll never lose a championship game again." And he didn't.

The contest had another interesting feature. There were 12 men on the field that would be elected into the NFL Hall of Fame. The Packers had eight led by Lombardi plus Bart Starr, Paul Hornung, Jim Taylor, Forrest Gregg, Willie Wood, Ray Nitchke and Jim Ringo.

The Eagles included Norm Van Brocklin, Tommy McDonald, Chuck Bednarik and back-up quarterback Sonny Jurgensen who would replace the retiring Van Brocklin.

Bednarik played all 60 minutes of the game at offensive center and linebacker.

The Eagle were 10-2 in the 1960 season and had a nine game win streak.

But Sunday, a different set of players will compete. Will the results be the same? After all, the Eagles are four-point favorites.

comments powered by Disqus