"I think it's great,' said Karen Waller who was working in the registration booth. "Look at the turn out in the rain."

About 1,000 runners and their families attended the event that honors Dana Marie Carr, a second grade student of Schuylkill Elementary School that was killed in a traffic accident. Proceeds from the event go to the Dana Marie Carr Memorial Fund as part of the Chester county Community Foundation and fund scholarships for two Phoenixville Area High School students.

Community members and visitors joined to celebrate "with love and pride for a family day that has become tradition in Phoenixville," said Judith Werner, co- chair of the events' committee later.

According to volunteers, people that chose not to run still attended to make a donation.

Helen Berkman, Dana's 2nd grade teacher and Bobbi Riley, a parent of an elementary school student, conceived of an annual 5k run from which the funds would benefit a Senior planning t o study education.

"Dana herself dreamed of being a teacher," said Judith Werner, who spoke at the award ceremony. "And what better way to honor her dream than to help that dream to come true for another child."

Students Kacie Labik and Shane Godman, who also ran in the race, will each receive $2,000 scholarships and were given plaques donated by Crown Trophy. Labik and Goodman plan to become teachers.

Rachel Thomas, who was a scholarship recipient the first year of the run, was also honored. Thomas will graduate in the spring from LaSalle University.

The Run for Dana Marie began with a Family Fun 1 Mile Race which was won by Joel Flott and Natalie McLaughlin.

While many of the racers were serious runners, about 75 percent were members of the community estimated Waller.

"They are people from Schuylkill Elementary School and people who know the Carr family," said Waller.

The top overall winners received $100, $75 and $50 gift certificate from Athlete's Closet according to placement. Female winners were Janet Lewis, Robin Jefferis and Leah Whipple and male winners were Mike Padilla, Christopher Castleman and Chuck Crabb.

All other 1, 2 and 3 place winners, which were awarded medals, were divided by gender and age categories. Age groups range from one through ten to 60 through 89 years old.

comments powered by Disqus