13 Spring-Ford wrestlers qualify for districts

File photo by Barry Taglieber Phoenixville sophomore Max Shepherd finished second in the 106-pound weight class during the Pioneer Athleti Conference Championships at Boyertown on Feb. 15.
File photo by Barry Taglieber Spring-Ford head wrestling coach Tim Seislove watches his Rams during a meet against Phoenixville earlier this season. Seislove earned his 200th career victory earlier this season and has been coaching the Rams for 15 seasons. He will have 13 of his wrestlers competing at the District 1-AAA West Tournament Saturday in Royersford.

BOYERTOWN - A cast of 23 area wrestlers, including 13 from Spring-Ford, advanced to the District 1-AAA West Tournament by finishing in the top five at the Pioneer Athletic Conference Championships Feb. 15.

Coach Tim Seisloves Rams, who will host the district tourney Feb. 22, will be joined by six wrestlers from Perkiomen Valley and four from Phoenixville.

Spring-Ford placed second in the team scoring with 210.5 points to trail only champion Boyertown with 259.5. Perkiomen Valley came in seventh with 107 markers, and Phoenixville took ninth with 57 counters.

Boyertown sophomore 160-pounder Gregg Harvey (35-6) was voted the Most Outstanding Wrestler after winning his weight class with a fall in 5:13 against top-seeded Nick Giangiulio, a senior from Perkiomen Valley. Harvey received the Don Seeley Memorial Award for his efforts.


Spring-Ford had three second-place silver medalists in Ryan Hayes (113), Taylor Westlake (170) and Nick Perri (195) plus six thirds with Hunter Mitch (120), Nick Beauchamp (132), Frank Krauss (152), Brendan Zimmie (182), Mason Romano (220) and Joshua Boyer (285). In fourth were Nick Suero (106) and Matt Krieble (126). Finishing fifth were Adam Dombrosky (138) and Jon Cooper (145).

Phoenixvilles contingent includes Max Shepherd (second at 106), Trey Romance (third at 145), Garrett Serwatka (fourth at 120) and Paul Hossler (fifth at 285).

Perkiomen Valley advanced Giangiulio (second at 160), Tyrelle Robinson (second at 138), Luke DiElsi (second at 220), Aaron Sturm (third at 170), Brian Marshall (fifth at 106) and Nick Fioravanti (fifth at 152).

Earlier in the day Giangiulio established a new Perkiomen Valley school record with his 117th win. His 9-1 major decision over Upper Perkiomens Trevor Weeks in the semifinals broke the mark previously held by the Vikings Gavin Milligan. Giangiulio is the son of former Phoenixville and St. Pius X wrestler Mike Giangiulio.

It was one of the goals Ive had since the last record was set, said Giangiulio. Gavin did it during my freshman year.

Giangiulio now has a 28-3 record for the season heading into the district tourney.

I just wasnt prepared, Giangiulio said of his match against Harvey. I need to train harder. He beat me. Gregg Harvey is one of the better wrestlers on their team.

Giangiulio will be wrestling at the collegiate level next season at Worcester Polytechnic Institute.

Shepherd, the diminutive Phantom sophomore, advanced to the finals with a fall and 9-3 decision before falling to Boyertowns top-seeded Jakob Campbell, a freshman. Campbell won via technical fall at 5:04 after building a 20-3 lead. Shepherd is now 21-8 on the year while Campbell is 34-6.

Of course, it feels great to get to the finals after working so hard all year, said Shepherd. I am out here and showing what I got. Its the dream. Its tough giving up weight. Today I weighed in at 97 pounds so I was giving away 12 or 13 pounds.

Ive been wrestling for eight or nine years. Last year I had some troubles, but I adapted to changes. I am having a pretty good year this year.

Shepherd has a confident attitude every time he takes the mat.

Im pretty quick, and I dont let anything bother me, said Shepherd. I wrestle my match. If I win, I win. If I lose, I lose. I wrestle for six minutes. I give the opponent everything Ive got.

Shepherd said he wrestled Campbell four times last year in fairly close matches.

Hes a tough competitor, said Shepherd. Hes gotten much better than last year. He took it to me today.


Other champions included Owen J. Roberts Derek Gulotta (113), Boyertowns Garrett Maugher (120), Boyertowns Lucas Miller (126), Boyertowns Eddie Kriczky (132), Methactons Joe Staley (138), Owen J. Roberts Dominic Petrucelli (145), Pottsgroves Nico Demetrio (152), Boyertowns Cody Richmond (170), Boyertowns William Scholl (182), Boyertowns Jordan Wertz (195), Boyertowns Jordan Wood (33-0 at 220) and Methactons Tracey Green (285).

Follow Barry Sankey on Twitter at BarryBSankey1.