In Other News

Fitness has no age when it comes to staying healthy as you get older

By Michilea Patterson mpatterson@21st-centurymedia.com @MichileaP on Twitter |

Steel River’s ‘Fiddler on the Roof’ is a noteworthy production

With its moving story and memorable music, “Fiddler on the Roof” has been captivating audiences for decades and Steel River Playhouse’s current production continues that tradition. ...

By Cheryl Thornburg For Digital First Media |

MOST RECENT STORIES

  • Lifestyle

    Phoenix Community Calendar May 22

    Event Submissions: Send to ldillon@berksmontnews.com a week prior to publication. Note “Phoenix Calendar” in the subject.

    |

  • Entertainment

    BREWS: Mark your calendars for Ambler Yards Beer Garden, Philly Beer Week and more

    May 19: Ambler Yards Beer Garden, Ambler, PA

    By Matt Brasch For Digital First Media |

  • Food

    YANKEE CHEF: Fire-roasted bell peppers key to tasty sauce

    If you have never had fire-roasted bell peppers, you are in for a treat, not just for the superb taste, but how easy it is to do. Follow the instructions at the end of this recipe for an addition to the sauce that is remarkably great tasting.

    By Jim Bailey |

  • Art galleries

    Artist Susan Melrath one stop on Chester County Studio Tour

    Oxford native Susan Melrath used to live in Seattle, where folks found her open-to-interpretation paintings accessible.

    By Brian Bingaman bbingaman@21st-centurymedia.com @brianbingaman on Twitter |

  • News

    Spring-Ford board eyes $150M budget, 2 percent tax hike

    ROYERSFORD >> Blaming the effects of Harrisburg’s nine-month-long budget impasse and a number of related financial challenges in the future, Spring-Ford Area School District officials are calling for a property tax increase.

    By Eric Devlin edevlin@21st-centurymedia.com @Eric_Devlin on Twitter |

  • Business

    New unit at Phoenixville Hospital will ease ER stay for seniors

    PHOENIXVILLE >> Phoenixville Hospital is getting ready to open a new emergency room/observation wing geared for a very specific audience — senior citizens.

    By Donna Rovins drovins@21st-centurymedia.com @MercBiz on Twitter |

  • News

    Court rules against Limerick nuclear plant relicensing challenge

    LIMERICK >> A federal appeals court has ruled against the national environmental group that sought to intervene in the relicensing of the Exelon Nuclear Limerick Generating Station by arguing more measures need to be taken to deal with possible accidents.

    By Evan Brandt ebrandt@21st-centurymedia.com @PottstownNews on Twitter |

  • News

    All Around Philly Suburbs: Your local morning briefing

    Welcome to the first All Around Philly Suburbs morning news briefing. Below is all of this morning’s most important stories. See something we missed? Email digital manager Andy Stettler at astettler@21st-centurymedia.com

    |

  • News

    Pa. approves $662,000 to improve area traffic problems

    PennDOT will distribute more than $17 million in state funding to help projects aimed at alleviating traffic across the Commonwealth, Pennsylvania Gov. Tom Wolf announced Monday.

    By Eric Devlin edevlin@21st-centurymedia.com @Eric_Devlin on Twitter |

  • News

    Limerick barbecue celebrates first responders at Heritage Field

    LIMERICK >> Grilled burgers and hot dogs were the perfect way to say thank you to the men and women who save lives for a living.

    By Eric Devlin edevlin@21st-centurymedia.com @Eric_Devlin on Twitter |

The Phoenix Reporter and Item: BLOGS