In Other News

Phoenixville psychic fair coming to town on Sept. 24

Digital First Media|

FOOD: Area chefs cook up corn six ways

This Labor Day weekend, give “a salute to the kernel.” That’s what chef Art Roman calls the class he teaches all about corn. So take a page from his cookbook, think beyond the cob and celebrate some new recipes like sautéed c...

By Emily Ryan For Digital First Media|

MOST RECENT STORIES

  • News

    Facility for special-needs children in Pocopson prospers after being rescued by community

    POCOPSON >> Two years ago, the Barn at Spring Brook Farm, a facility that provides animal-assisted activities for children with disabilities, was all set to close. Codes officers found violations at the facility that would cost upward of $100,000 after a neighbor complained of noise.

    By Fran Maye fmaye@21st-centurymedia.com @kennettpaper on Twitter |

  • Education

    Students, schools battle sleep issues for beneficial school year

    It’s that time of year again. Students of all ages, shapes, sizes and backgrounds are gathering their bookbags, textbooks and electronic devices – because using pen and paper to take notes in class are of a bygone era – and brace themselves for another year of academics.

    By Kevin Tustin ktustin@21st-centurymedia.com @KevinTustin on Twitter |

  • Business

    Valley Forge Tourism and Convention Board launches marketing campaign aimed at attracting shoppers to Montco

    King of Prussia >> It’s no secret to Montgomery County residents that the county has some of the best shopping around. The Valley Forge Tourism and Convention Board is spreading the word.

    By Donna Rovins drovins@21st-centurymedia.com @MercBiz on Twitter |

  • News

    Limerick Bowl to hold Special Olympics opening ceremony

    LIMERICK >> The Olympic torch may have already been extinguished in Rio but the spirit of the games will live on in our area every weekend this fall.

    By Eric Devlin edevlin@21st-centurymedia.com @Eric_Devlin on Twitter |

  • News

    National Park Service to celebrate its centennial at Valley Forge

    UPPER MERION >> Often called “America’s Best Idea,” thanks to the Ken Burns film of the same name, the words “national park” evoke images of the great western expanses of Yellowstone, Grand Canyon and Yosemite.

    By Evan Brandt ebrandt@21st-centurymedia.com @PottstownNews on Twitter |

  • News

    Norristown police first recipient of new Montgomery County emergency radios

    NORRISTOWN >> Norristown police officers are done using rubber bands to hold their radios together.

    By Kaitlyn Foti kfoti@21st-centurymedia.com @kaitlynfoti on Twitter |

  • Lifestyle

    Prepare healthful, nutritious back-to-school lunches

    It’s that time of year again. Fading are the days of summer vacation fun and on the horizon are parent-teacher conferences, homework and packed school lunches.

    By Michilea Patterson mpatterson@21st-centurymedia.com @MichileaP on Twitter |

  • News

    Phoenixville foundation seeks nominations for community service award

    PHOENIXVILLE >> Every neighborhood has someone who goes above and beyond the call of duty in the service of others. Now one local organization is looking to recognize those individuals for their work and thank them for a job well done.

    By Eric Devlin edevlin@21st-centurymedia.com @Eric_Devlin on Twitter |

  • Entertainment

    FUN GRAB BAG: Weekend events include SangriaFest, Tomato Fest, Jerk Fest, Bachata and a Butterfly Celebration

    Summer treats SteelStacks: The first SangriaFest takes place 4 to 7 p.m. Aug. 27 at 101 Founders Way, Bethlehem. Sample 10 different sangrias, all made with wines imported by South Italy Imports. Performers taking the stage during the afternoon include Flowers For Taco, Tim Harakal and the Billy Bauer Band. Also, enjoy foo and games like beanbags and quoits. Tickets are $25, with $35 VIP tickets to sample handcrafted sangria cocktails designed by area restaurant mixologists.

    By Brian Bingaman bbingaman@21st-centurymedia.com @brianbingaman on Twitter |

  • Lifestyle

    Phoenix, Reporter & Item Community Calendar: Week of Aug. 28

    Event Submissions: Send to ldillon@berksmontnews.com a week prior to publication. Note “Phoenix Calendar” in the subject.

    |

The Phoenix Reporter and Item: BLOGS