‘Old Man' Haus sweeps Selinsgrove racing

Photo by WRT Speedwerks
Scott Haus, driving his son Andy's car, sweeps Selinsgrove events on July 26 as he won his 30th career Late Model race at the Snyder County oval.
Photo by WRT Speedwerks Scott Haus, driving his son Andy's car, sweeps Selinsgrove events on July 26 as he won his 30th career Late Model race at the Snyder County oval.


Brent Marks turned the tables on Greg Hodnett at Williams Grove Speedway on July 25. And instead of chasing him to the checkers in the 410 sprint feature, as he did a week earlier, he took the win ahead of the over points leader for his first Grove victory of the season.

In the 358 sprint main, it was Doug Hammaker taking his first career win at the oval while becoming just the fourth driver to take a checkered flag in the division at the track this season.

The pair waged a spirited battle during the final five laps with Hodnett holding on the for the spot. Donnie Kreitz finished third, followed by Doug Esh and Aaron Ott. Sixth through 10th went to Brian Montieth, Steve Buckwalter, Ryan Bohlke, Justin Barger and Alan Krimes.

Doug Hammaker won the 358 feature with Kevin Nouse second. Leah Starner held on for third, followed by Chris Arnold and Chandler Leiby.



Colt Harris won the 358 Modified feature on July 25 over points leader Billy Pauch Jr., John Willman, Rick Laubach and Meme Desantis. In the Sportsman feature, Mike Lisowski won the Craig Whitmoyer. Chris Holland won the Roadrunner feature.


Mark Smith stromed from his eighth starting position to win his fourth race of the season at Selinsgrove Speedway in the July 26 25-lap United Racing Company (URC) 360 sprint car main event.

The victory at the wheel of the Mach 1 Chassis No. 1 was Smith’s eighth career in 358-360 sprint car competition at the track and was worth $2,500.

Scott Haus scored his 30th career late model win at Selinsgrove in the division’s 25-lap feature, following a wheel-to-wheel duel with Bryan Bernheisel of Lebanon. He beecame the ninth different late model feature winner in 12 races at the track this season.

At the checkered flag, Haus edged out Bryan Bernheisel by a mere half-scond margin of victory. Coleby Frye, Jeff Rine and Matt Cochran rounded out the top five finishers.


Five-time track champion Duane Howard wheeled the Atlas Paving #66 358 Modified to victory in the 30-lap Atlas Paving, sponsored NASCAR Whelen 358 Modified feature race on July 26. The win was his fifth of the season.

In the Pepsi-Bashore One-on-One Modified Challenge, Kevin Hirthler was able to top seven-time track champion, Craig VonDohren, in the final challenge to earn $1,500.

In the 25-lap main event for the BRC Late Models, it ws young rookie racer Cory Merkel gaining his first career victory. For the 10th time this season, points leader Jared Umbenhauer was able to take the top spot in the 25-lap feature for Sportsmen.

Also in Modifieds, Doug Manmiller finished second, Jeff Strunk third and Don Norris Jr. fourth. Another local driver, Tim Buckwalter, came in 22nd.


Brian Montieth said it was tough, but the four-time track champ made it look easy in scoring his second win of the year 43rd victory of his career at Lincoln Speedway on July 26. Montieth, who missed a race while vacationing earlier in the year, moved into second in points behind Alan Krimes with the 4.25-second win over Krimes.

Danny Dietrich came from 12th starting spot to finish third. Ryan Wilson, ettled for fourth withBilly Dietrich fifth. Sixth through 10th went to Cory Haas, 15-th-starting Adam Wilt, Tim Wagaman, Freddie Rahmer and Jim Siegel.


Brent Marks beat a highly competitive field of 410 sprints to record his first-ever Port Royal Speedeay victory on July 26, taking $3,000 for the win while becoming the 11th different winner in 12 events held at the track so far this season.

In the super late model main, Tim Smith Jr. continued the trend of no-repeat winners in the division by becoming the 10th different pilt to visit victory lane in as many races this season while also setting a new 20-lap track record in the affair.

In the 305 sprint main, Tyler Bear became the first repeat winner of the year in the class.