Auto Racing roundup: Tim Buckwalter takes first in 25-lapper

Photo by Ken Johnson
Jim Baker returned to Grandview Speedway last weekend to receive honors for local auto racing.
Photo by Ken Johnson Jim Baker returned to Grandview Speedway last weekend to receive honors for local auto racing.

Action Track

USA Kutztown

Tim Buckwalter captured first place kin the Pioneer Pole Building Wingless 600cc for Sprints, covering 25 laps. He beat out Jay Hartman and Kyle Lick with Billy Pauch Jr. coming in fourth.

In the Championship SpeedSTR’s 30-lap race, Frank Cozze placed first with Larry Solomon second and Billy Pauch Jr. third. Back in the pack were Kenny Brightbill in 16th place and Billy Pauch Sr. in 21st place. Brad Brightbill came in 22nd.

Mark Hartman finished first in the NAPA Auto Parts All Star Slingshots Mid-Atlantic Silver Tour Racing, covering 30 laps. Matt Miller finished second with Brett Bieber third and Kassidy Kreitz fourth. Dave Carraghan rounded out the top five racers. Travis Bieber finished back in the pack in the No. 19 slot.

In the 20-lap Junior Slingshots, Dillon Steuer finished in first place with Dylan Swinehart second and Chloe Andreas third.


Big Diamond

Action was rained out.

Williams Grove

Action was rained out.

Lincoln Speedway

Danny Dietrich continued his winning ways at Lincoln Speedway. The 2012 Lincoln track champ had a perfect night, setting fast time, winning the dash and claiming his third win in the last four years in the annual All-Star Circuit of Champions show in the Pigeon Hills on June 14.

Brian Montieth, who started fourth, had contact with a lapped car while running second on the frontstretch of lap 14, the only caution of the 30-lap event.


For the third time this season, Duane Howard put the Mike Petruska-owned/Atlas Paving No. 66 in victory lane in the 30-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Modified feature on June 14 at Grandview Speedway.

Chasing the Oley racer across the line to be runner-up two weeks in a row was Meme DeSantis, who also received the Dan’s Deli half-way leader award. In addition to the top prize money, Howard pciked up an additional $250 from T.P. Trailers, Limerick, making for a $2,750 pay day.

Wayne Pfeil chalked up his second 25-lap NASCAR BRC Late Model feature victory for his fifth career win at the terack, beating out Dan Green by a comfortable margin. The Mohnton driver also received $100 from T.P. Trailers.

The 25-lap NASCAR Sportsman feature finally had a different winner as Brian Hirthler of Green Lane took first place. The 2012 rookie has suffered through ups and downs this year but held off all competitors to capture his first-ever career win in which he earned an additional $100 from T.P. Trailers.

Former Reading Fairgrunds modified and sprint tacer Jimmy Baker led from start to finish to win the 15-lap Blast From the Past Vintage Car feature. Ronnie Peck, a former Grandview Late Model champion, won the heat race.

Port Royal

Mike Erdley and Doug Esh won 410 sprints while Colby Frye and Mike Lupfer won late models.

Erdley ended up winning the make-up Fallen Heroes Championship 410 sprint feature worth $5,000 after the race restarted with nine laps recorded. The race picked up where it was rained out back on May 24. In the Super Late Model race that Frye won, Andy Haus of Hamburg finished second.


TJ Stutts of Liverpool and Mark Smith of Sunbury exchanged the lead several times before Stutts emerged victorious in the June 14 30-lap Patriot Sprint tour/11th Annual Joe Whitcomb Memorial for 358-360 sprint cars at Selinsgrove Speedway. The win was Stutts’ third of the season and third career in the Whitcomb Memorial at the wheel of the Mountain View Travel/Shimock’s Furniture No.l 23. The victory also marked the 20th of his career in 358-360 sprint car competition at the oval.

Dylan Yoder of Selinsgrove won his first race of the season at Selinsgrove and fourth overall this year in record-setting fashion in the 25-lap super late model feature. Yoder’s new track record for the distance was 9 minutes, 3 seconds and .30 of a second.