Auto racing roundup

Submitted photo
Brady Bacon of Oklahoma was the feature race winner at Port Royal Speedway. The USAC sprints race covered 30 laps.
Submitted photo Brady Bacon of Oklahoma was the feature race winner at Port Royal Speedway. The USAC sprints race covered 30 laps.


Jeff Strunk was the winner in the June 6 Modified feature at Big Diamond Speedway with Ray Swinhart coming home second. Kevin Smith was third, followed by Duane Howard and points leader Rick Laubach fifth. Sean Merkel won the 20-lap Late Model feature over Billy Wampler, Ben Whitaker, Scott Haus and Andy Haus.


Donnie Kreitz turned in a finish for the 410 sprint ages on June 6 at Williams Grove Speedway, staging an eye-opening run for victory that saw him erase a more than seven-second lead by Brian Montieth to nip him by .010 second at the finish line.

Including bonus and lap money, Kreitz pocketed more than $4,500 for the regular, 25-lap win, which was the 59th of his Williams Grove career. Aaron Ott ws the winner of the 25-lap URC sprint main, taking over $2,000. Steve Buckwalter placed third in the 410 sprints.


Defending NASCAR 358 champion Craig VonDohren held off the challengers to win his second 30-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Modified feature race at Grandview Speedway on June 7. The win came during T.P. Trailers Night with the Oley-based, seven-time champion earning $2,900 for his efforts, including $250 bonus bucks from T.P. Trailers and $150 worth of racing gasoline from VP Racing Fuels.


In the 25-lap NASCAR Late Model feature, Ron Kline, who appeared to be on his way to his first win of the season the previous week until he ran over a muffler on the track and punctured his tire which eventually caused him to spin, led from start to finish to finally get the monkey off his back and pick up the win. The Salford racer also received $100 from T.P. Trailers, plus an additional $100 from J & H Automotive owner Harry Gallagher.

For the second week in a row, Jared Umbenhauer, who is from Richalnd, won the 25-lap NASCAR Sportsman feature for his fifth win of the year and received $100 from T.P. Trailers.

Meme DeSantis placed second in the Modified feature with Jeff Strunk third.


J.J. Grasson held off Danny Dietrich and then points leader Alan Krimes to claim his first career Lincoln Speedway 410 sprint car feature win in the Annyual Daryl Gohn/Glenn Gohn Sr. Memorial on June 7. Grasso’s total winnings were $4,600.

Brian Montieth finished sixth after starting in the No. 11 position.



Brady Bacon of Broken Arrow, Okla., took the $6,000 USAC Eastern Storm sprint car feature event at Port Royal Speedway on June 7 for his first-ever oval victory. The 20-lap ARDC Midget feature went to Steve Drevicki of Reading.

During the ARDC Midgets, covering 20 laps, Steve Buckwalter came in second with Tim Buckwalter third and Bruce Buckwalter Jr. fifth.