The Phoenix Reporter and Item (

Perk Valley School Board honors two student groups

Tuesday, July 2, 2013

The following is a press release from the Perkiomen Valley School District
COLLEGEVILLE - The Perkiomen Valley School Board honored two groups of high school students at the June 3 work session -- the Take Action club and those who participated in the 2013 Career Study program.
Four senior members of the Take Action club - Ben Kershner, Jenny Minnick, Peter Moran and Caroline Oehlerich - were honored for making a presentation to the School Board to introduce members to the concept of hiring an ESCO, or energy saving company. The students presented last June, and one year later, their idea has become a reality. Recently, the Board contracted with a consultant and an ESCO to begin facility improvements that will save the district money while also reducing its environmental footprint. The members of this group lived up to their name – they took action to make a positive change that will benefit students and residents of this district for years to come.
The Perkiomen Valley School Board was also proud to recognize high school seniors who did an outstanding job within the Career Study program. The Career Study program is offered to high school seniors as a way for them to gain practical work experience in a profession they may want to one day pursue. Through this program, students seek out and make arrangements with area professionals to study onsite with them for approximately four weeks. This year, the high school had 280 students participate in the program – the largest group in history to take part in Career Study. The students honored June 3 had the distinction of being singled out by their Career Sponsors for their outstanding work and for their exemplary representation of the high school and district while out in the field. The students included:
• Morgan Bechtel, who worked with Richard C. Mast and Associates
• James Biddle and Audree Bonavita, who both worked with Rachael Morrison at the Collegeville Economic Development Corporation
• Kyle Bruno, who worked with teacher Charles Testa at Perkiomen Valley Middle School West
• Jacqueline Croke, who worked with the Goddard School
• Alexis Dowiak, who worked at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
• Brian Dunne, who worked with Robert E. Lamb, Inc.
• Lauren Enlow, who worked with Rep. Mike Vereb’s office
• Thomas Flynn, who worked with Pottstown Community Television
• Kaitlin Fritts, who worked with the Beasley Broadcast Group
• Francine Gambeski, who worked with Godshall Kane O’Rourke Architects
• Maryah Green, who worked for Rep. Mike Vereb’s office
• Alexander Hart, who worked with Houghton International
• Nicholas Irick, who also worked for Houghton International
• Eric Koeck, who worked for Dr. Kristen Kozloski, Director of Technology for PVSD
• Anna Leonard, who worked for Beasley Broadcast Group
• Tyler Lohr, who worked for the Perkiomen Watershed Conservancy
• John McLead, who worked for Ursinus College
• Max Polec, who worked for Mishock Physical Therapy and Associates
• Carter Rauenzahn, who worked for teacher Bryan Beddis at Skippack Elementary School
• Janson Shaw, who worked for Exxon
• Kirsten Smith, who worked for Evercare Hospice and Palliative Care
• Brooke Young, who worked for the Perkiomen Watershed Conservancy