Four Phantoms on Frontier field hockey first team

Four members of the Phoenixville field hockey team were selected for the All-Pioneer Athletic Conference first team in voting by the league coaches.

Sophomore Bailey Quinn, senior Shannan McErlean, senior Rachel Boone and senior Jessica Tague were named to the first unit. Quinn plays offense, McErlean midfield, Boone defense and Tague defense.

Senior Alison Meszaros made the second team as a swing player. Sophomore Allison Trafford was picked for honorable mention on defense by head coach John Tornetta.

Spring-Ford placed three players on the Liberty Division first team in junior Gabrielle Major, junior Alyssa Chillano and senior Simone Vagnoni. Major made it for offense, Chillano for midfield and Vagnoni for defense.


Ram senior Sammi Haas and junior Savanna Malloy made the second team at midfield and defense, respectively. Spring-Ford head coach picked sophomore defender Taylor Brennan for honorable mention.

Pope John Paul II junior midfielder Jessica Wayock was named to the Frontier Division first team. Senior Shannon Mooney of the Golden Panthers made the second team on offense. Senior defender Jacquie Burns was chosen as honorable mention.

Upper Perkiomen had six players on the Frontier first team in junior Casey Umstead, offense; senior Samantha Stalford, offense; senior Carrie Nyce, midfield; senior Devon Kriebel, defense; senior Katlyn Lederer, goalie; and junior Madelyn Fox, swing player.

Also named to the first team in the Liberty Division were junior Alexa Hoover, Methacton, offense; junior Lauren Schweppe, Owen J. Roberts, midfield; senior Sarah Himes, Owen J. Roberts, defense; senior Sarah Roos, Perkiomen Valley, offense; senior Natalie Marsh, Perkiomen Valley, midfield; junior Rachel Hamm, Perkiomen Valley, defense; senior Audree Bonavito, Perkiomen Valley, goalie; and sophomore Annie Himsworth, Perkiomen Valley, swing player.

The PAC-10 second team also included senior Rachel Perry, Boyertown, midfield; senior Asia Crawford, Methacton, midfield; senior Lexi Tasca, Methacton, defense; sophomore Samantha Steele, Methacton, goalie; junior Emma Christman, Owen J. Roberts, offense; senior Heather Morris, Owen J. Roberts, offense; senior Jordyn Shoemaker, Owen J. Roberts, defense; and junior Elizabeth Tamburro, Owen J. Roberts, goalie.

Honorable mention selections also included senior Kelli Long, Boyertown, midfield; sophomore Brittany Dickinson, Methacton, midfield; junior Ashley Kucera, Owen J. Roberts, midfield; freshman Kelsey Giese, Perkioemn Valley, midfield; senior Nicole Finn, Pottsgrove, midfield; junior Tyisha Reddick, Pottstown, goalie; and sophomore Samantha Dingler, Upper Perkiomen, defense.