In Other News

Festival of People returns to Upper Merion Township Park

By Gary Puleo gpuleo@21st-centurymedia.com @MustangMan48 on Twitter |

New program helps families to help themselves out of poverty

KENNETT SQUARE >> A new initiative that helps people to cut the chains of poverty — something that has worked in other parts of the country — is coming to southern Chester County this fall. And local officials feel it could have a ...

By Fran Maye fmaye@21st-centurymedia.com @kennettpaper on Twitter |

MOST RECENT STORIES

  • Crime

    Juvenile robbed at gunpoint in West Chester

    WEST CHESTER >> A male teenager has reportedly told police he was robbed at gunpoint near the Subway on West Strasburg Road in broad daylight Tuesday, police said.

    By Adam Farence afarence@21st-centurymedia.com @afarence on Twitter |

  • Elections

    GOP vice presidential nominee Mike Pence speaks at Tech Tube in King of Prussia

    UPPER MERION >> Nearly 250 Donald Trump supporters attended a campaign speech by Republican vice presidential nominee Mike Pence at custom fabricated parts manufacturer Tech Tube Inc in King of Prussia Tuesday afternoon.

    By Oscar Gamble ogamble@21st-centurymedia.com @OGamble_TH on Twitter |

  • Education

    Local school supply lists now available online TeacherLists.com

    Parents from local schools have a new tool in their back-to-school bag of tricks this year, as all of their schools supply lists are now posted on TeacherLists.com.

    For Digital First Media |

  • News

    Bail lowered in WCU rape case; man remains in jail

    WEST CHESTER >> A former West Chester University student remains in Chester County Prison today after a Common Pleas Court judge lowered his bail on rape charges, but not sufficiently to allow his family to post a bond.

    By Michael P. Rellahan mrellahan@21st-centurymedia.com @ChescoCourtNews on Twitter |

  • News

    Montgomery County Suicide Prevention Taskforce urges residents to know warning signs

    NORRISTOWN >> For Montgomery County Commissioner Joe Gale, the issue of suicide prevention hits a personal note.

    By Kaitlyn Foti kfoti@21st-centurymedia.com @kaitlynfoti on Twitter |

  • News

    Official: Phoenixville paving project underway

    PHOENIXVILLE >> State Sen. Andy Dinniman, D-19th Dist., announced that work will begin Wednesday on a $2.2 million project to resurface and repair almost 10 miles of roadway on four state highways in Chester County including in Phoenixville.

    By Eric Devlin edevlin@21st-centurymedia.com @Eric_Devlin on Twitter |

  • News

    Pottstown schools OKs 3-year teacher contract

    POTTSTOWN >> Just in time for the start of school, the school board voted 7-1 Monday night to approve a three-year contract with the teachers union that will cost taxpayers more than $1.3 million by the end of the third year.

    By Evan Brandt ebrandt@21st-centurymedia.com @PottstownNews on Twitter |

  • News

    Montgomery County NAACP branches call for collaboration with police

    NORRISTOWN >> In the face of what many see as a growing division between minorities and law enforcement, representatives of the NAACP and police departments in Montgomery County stood side by side Monday morning on the steps of the courthouse.

    By Kaitlyn Foti kfoti@21st-centurymedia.com @kaitlynfoti on Twitter |

  • News

    Fatal car crash in Tredyffrin leaves one dead

    TREDYFFRIN >> A two-car crash left one person dead early Sunday morning on Route 202 northbound, according to police.

    By Adam Farence afarence@21st-centurymedia.com @afarence on Twitter |

  • News

    Democratic gun-control advocates throw support to Toomey

    U.S. Sen. Pat Toomey, R-Pa. won the backing from a gun violence prevention organization — vocal proponents for changes in gun laws and policies that keep deadly weapons from the hands of dangerous people.

    By Rick Kauffman rkauffman@21st-centurymedia.com @Kauffee_DT on Twitter |

The Phoenix Reporter and Item: BLOGS