Jaguars AAU wins hoops title

Submitted photo The Jaguars AAU 6th grade boys basketball team won the Lehigh Valley "Braggin Rightz Brawl" at the In The Zone Athletic Complex in Bath. Pictured in back row, left to right, are head coach Tom Blomstrom, AJ Williams, Vince Tulli, Justin Adedinsewo, James Begg, Aaron Taylor and assistant coach Jim Begg. In front row, left to right, are Ryan Hagan, Luke Santagelo, Blaise Blomstrom and Julian Torres. Not pictured are Floyd Dashiell and Jason Smiley.

COLLEGEVILLE - The Jaguars AAU 6th grade boys basketball team won the Lehigh Valley “Braggin Rightz Brawl” at the In The Zone Athletic Complex in Bath on June 1-2. In the championship game, the Jaguars defeated the regional powerhouse Luzerne County Lightning from Wilkes-Barre, 37-24, in a defensive gem.

The tournament showcase some of the finest talent in the Lehigh Valley. Steve Turpening is executive director of the event.

During the tounrament, the Jaguars competed against top-caliber AAU programs, including the Perkasie Knights, Central Bucks Wildcats and Allentown-Bethlehem In The Zone clubs. The Jaguars went undefeated in the tournament and averaged a 21-point margin of victory.

The event was held at the In The Zone Athletics 22,000 square foot multi-sport training complex in Bath in the Lehigh Valley.


“The young menf ar exceeded expectations by winning the Lehigh Valley championship and I am very proud of the,” said Jaguars head coach Tom Blomstrom. “It was an honor to have tourney administrators, opposing coaches, officials and fans compliment our players’ character and hard work.”

Justin Adedinsewo led the team in scoring throughout the tourney, averaging 15.5 points and 13 rebounds per game. James Begg totaled 29 points for the tourney and pulled down 40 rebounds. Other tourney totals included Ryan Hagan chipping in 22 points and Julian Torres pumping in 20 points.

Earlier this spring, the Jaguars won the Beachbound Basketball Classic in Ocean City, Md. The team practices at a facility in Perkiomen Township and has players from Pottsgrove, Pottstown, Spring-Ford and Perkiomen Valley School Districts.