McDowell, Haas top S-F seniors

ROYERSFORD - Zameer McDowell and Samantha “Sammi” Haas received Spring-Ford High School’s Most Outstanding Athlete Awards during the annual senior sports banquet June 4 at the high school.

McDowell starred in football and basketball for the Rams while Haas was a standout in field hockey and basketball for the Class AAAA state champion Spring-Ford girls squad.

McDowell, a 1,000-point scorer, also received the Spring-Ford Boys Basketball Camp Award that is awarded to the outstanding senior boys basketball player. He will continue his football career at California University of Pennsylvania.

Haas also received The Spring-Ford Ram Award for a female that goes to the athlete who exemplifies Ram school spirit. She will continue her education at West Chester University.


Richard “RJ” Sheldon received three awards after a stellar academic and athletic scholastic career that included football, swimming and baseball. Sheldon has received a scholarship to continue playing football at Bucknell University.

Sheldon also received the Spring-Ford Ram Award for a male who exemplifies Ram spirit, the David Freed Memorial Award in football and the Spring-Ford Booster Club Award to a male.

Adam Musetti was also a triple winner boys cross country, indoor track and spring track & field.

The other award winners included the following:

Baseball-outstanding senior, Sam E. Seeley Award, Tyler Eckman; Baseball-Coaches Award, Kyle McKelvy; Baseball-Conor McKenna Memorial Award-Nicholas Fuhrmeister; Boys Basketball-Coaches Award-Justin DeLuzio; Girls Basketball-outstanding senior, Rich Reese Award, Sarah Payonk; Boys Cross Country-outstanding senior, Oehlert Bros. Award, Michael Cassidy; Boys Cross Country-Coaches Award, Adam Musetti; Girls Cross Country-outstanding senior, Oehlert Bros. Award, Samantha Flynn; Girls Cross Country-Coaches Award, Kirsten Wong.

Also, Cheerleader-outstanding senior, fall, Jean F. Wherley Award, Amy Imperial; Cheerleader-outstanding senior, winter, Jean F. Wherley Award, Ashlei Schwartz; Boys Indoor Track-outstanding senior, Class of 1973 Award, Adam Musetti; Boys Indoor Track-Coaches Award, Ryan Pierson; Girls Indoor Track-outstanding senior, Class of 1973 Award, Emma Krueger; Girls Indoor Track-Coaches Award, Kirsten Wong; Field Hockey-outstanding senior, Class of 1968 award, Simone Vagnoni; Football-oustanding senior, Spring-Ford Ed. Assoc. Award, Hank Coyne; Football-Vincent DiPaul Coaches Award, Travis Daywalt; Boys Golf-outstanding senior, Ira J. Hilborn Award, Eric Rowell; Girls Golf-outstanding senior, Adele Lebow Award, Danielle Freed; Girls Golf-Coaches Award, Alyssa Cominsky; Girls Lacrosse-outstanding senior, W.D. Gadzicki Award, Sasha Wozniak; Girls Lacrosse-Coaches Award, Erin Mensch; Boys Lacrosse-outstanding senior, Rich Reese Award, Paul Major; Boys Lacrosse-Coaches Award, Ian Hare; Boys Lacrosse-Head, Heart & Hustle Award, Dennis Young; Boys Soccer-outstanding senior, Spring-Ford Rotary Award, Miles Kehs; Boys Soccer-Coaches Award, Ryan Christ; Girls Soccer-Rich Reese Award, Carrie Kupferschmidt; Girls Soccer-Coaches Award, Haley Puckett; Softball-outstanding senior, Joseph J. Wherley Award, Haleigh Williams; Softball-Coaches Award, Rachel Connelly; Boys Swimming-outstanding senior; Spring Valley YMCA Award, Nathan Darlington; Girls Swimming-outstanding senior, Spring Valley YMCA Award, Kayla Dwyer.

Also, Boys Tennis-outstandings enior, Rich Reese Award, Joseph Graziadei; Girls Tennis-outstanding senior, Kalil Award, Stephanie Cifarelli; Boys Track & Field-outstanding senior, Anthony A. Attilio Award, Yousef Lundi; Boys Track & Field, Coaches Award, Ryan Pierson; Track & Field-Frank Colden Award, Adam Musetti; Girls Track & Field-outstanding senior, Royersford Lions Club, Nicole Cornell; Girls Track & Field-Coaches Award, Akunna O’Kere; Girls Volleyball-outstanding senior, Spring-Ford Adult Volleyball Award, Kirsten Overton; Girls Volleyball-Coaches Award, Kara Szymanski; Wrestling-outstanding senior, Class of 1973 Award, Tyler McGuigan; Wrestling-Coaches Award, Sean Hennessey; Academics & Athletics-female, Spring-Ford Booster Club Award, Samantha Flynn; Academics & Athletics-male, Spring-Ford Booster Club Award, Richard Sheldon; Outstanding Female Athlete-Spring-Ford Alumni Most Outstanding Athlete Award, Samantha Haas; Outstanding Male Athlete-Spring-Ford Alumni Most Outstanding Athlete Award, Zameer McDowell.