Steelers soar past Bears for Big Brothers crown

Photo by Barry Taglieber The Bears' Juan Browne (8) is tackled by the Steelers' Patrick Elisi (4) during the "Super Sunday" Big Brothers championship contest.
Photo by Barry Taglieber The Steelers' David Bolles (14) pushes for extra yardage while being tackled by the Bears' Alex Washington (3) during the PMYC "Super Sunday" Big Brothers championship game.

CHARLESTOWN - The Steelers rolled past the Bears, 32-0, in the Big Brothers division title game of Phoenixville Marian Youth Club (PMYC) football on “Super Sunday” Nov. 17 at Charlestown Park on the campus of Valley Forge Christian College.

The Steelers jumped out to a 13-0 lead after the first period and then were up 26-0 by halftime.

David Bolles rushed for three touchdowns and 144 yards on 15 carries to highlight the Steelers’ offense. Bolles scored on runs of 11, one and 28 yards. He also attempted two passes that fell incomplete. He was also a key part of the Steelers’ defense and had one pass defended.

The Steelers’ Justin Blakey rushed for two touchdowns and 105 yards on just five attempts. He scored on runs of 24 and nine yards and also had one ramble for 69 yards to set up a touchdown. Jacob Cayson ran for 42 yards on seven tries. Quarterback Miles Davido and Maximus Dopwell also ran the football for the Steelers.


Defensively, Blakey intercepted a pass and Cayson blocked a punt. Liam Meyers recovered a fumble while Vance Traub and Patrick Elisi broke up pass attempts.

The Steelers were coached by Vimal Negandhi, who was assisted by Damien Davido.

“I played out here and I coach out here,” said Negandhi. “No matter what, you look your teammates in the eyes and say you had fun. That’s what it’s all about.”

Official Steve Pannella of the Norristown Chapter of Officials presented sportsmanship awards to the Bears’ Nate Smith and the Steelers’ Jacob Cayson.

The Bears’ Andre Moffatt completed six of 16 aerials for 99 yards. Moffatt also rushed for seven yards. Juan Browne, Graham Light, Travis Pannella and Alex Washington also took turns running the ball for the Bears.

Washington had two receptions for 56 yards, one of them a 51-yarder. Light had one catch for 19 yards, Tyler Raniszewski one for 10, Browne one for nine and Pannella one for five yards.

The Bears were coached by Jason Harsh, who was assisted by Anwar Abernathy and Buff Moffatt.

Harsh recognized his four captains: Washington, Light, Pannella and Moffatt.


In closing ceremonies, Dave Gyuris recognized John Moore for his work in helping run the league this year along with co-commissioners Rich Gyuris Sr. and Karen Taphorn, EMT Ed Walters, public address announcer Gene Bernat and treasurer Gert Dawson, who is also in charge of the refreshment stand.